Do you still get people soo’3a when you travel?!

Once upon a time in Q8… visiting someone who came back from abroad meant recieving a soo’3a (souvenir) was a guaranteed thing! People coming from the UK always brought flake and mini cadbury chocolates and sometimes M&S swiss chocolate coins. People coming from Mecca always brought some necklaces and something that looks like a little TV that you would press and images would change… no matter what happens and where they have been and why they have been there… poeple always got a soo’3a!

A soo’3a neededn’t be a big affair or anything… even a bar of chocolate would do! I remember when i first got married, we used to bring soo’3a for everyone… i loved shopping for little knicknacks to put together in a little bag or box and then coming home to opening my luggage and putting the sowaye’3 together and assigning them to people… then giving out the bags and watching people happily recieve their sowaye’3…

Little by little we realized that those sowaye’3 cost us a lot of money, a lot of time, and a lot of effort… and even though we did them because it made us happy to be givers and not to expect a soo’3a back… we realized that no one actually cares about the thought and effort we put into them and that people are recieving them warily… as if it’s a thing that must be repaid when they travel themselves… the soo’3a therefore has suddenly become a symbol of demanding a soo’3a repayment from ur next trip instead of a symbol of i remembered you in my travel!!!

 Therefore we have limited our soo’3a to my parents and my parents only… whenever we travel we have to get them something back and my sisters already ask me for a lot of things -and i ask them for a lot of things- when either of us travel so the concept of a soo’3a is lost in the commosion. 

What happened? I know there are still a lot of people who give out soway’3… maybe too many sowaye’3… but all in all the concept of a soo’3a has been mutated into something to dread rather than something to look forward to! What happened?!  I wonder if there are people out there who still get people soo’3a!!!

Do you still get soway’3 when you travel?! If you stopped… why did you?!

P.S. i remember my friend AWS once got me a lovely orange box filled with little knicknacks from her trip to Japan… knowing how much i love Japanese stuff she filled the box with little Japanese artifacts… finding that box on my office desk when i arrived one morning, opening that box and going through the endless little items was the one of the most memorable souvenier experiences EVER! The joy of checking out the things was unmeausrable!!!  Thank you AWS :*

32 responses to this post.

  1. The Flake thing always makes me laugh, because in (not so)olden days it tasted soooo good from the UK because they used animal fat to make it ( not vegetable fat) and of course the only animal fat they used was, yes, you’ve guessed it, from Pork……maybe they still do…..this made for the wonderful creamy taste!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:34 AM

      oooh it was!!! How lovely!
      I remember that we found out that woolworths pick and mix was made with the “finest pork gelatine”… maybe in 2004… after years and years of consumption :p

      Reply

  2. Posted by Shosho on December 28, 2010 at 1:43 PM

    Mashallah 3alaich you really brung out such memories with your posts lol..

    Yes I remember the hajj so’3a it’s not the same anymore 😦

    As for me, I bring so’3a to ppl who appreciate it like if I go to London, I buy for my Swiss friends as they are the ones I return to when I go back.. They appreciate little things that mean alot and I know what they like..
    And
    But if I come to Kuwait, I buy chocolates Bas because I fear I’ll get something ppl don’t like plus it’s the best thing to bring from Switzerland lol I bring for my parents and brothers.. Sometimes I buy Swiss souvenir shirts for my nieces and nephews.. It’s depends but everyone likes chocolates Fa that’s my usual thing. Lol

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:37 AM

      True the best soo’3a from Switzerland is chocolate 😀
      Bs zain itsaween… minha ihe fe3lan soo’3a o minha the whole family testanas!

      Reply

  3. Posted by noora on December 28, 2010 at 2:38 PM

    I dont feel obligated to bring back so’3a at all. 
    I bring one 3ala meshtahaty, for someone a3eza or something that reminded me of someone. And ma 3indy yebt 7q flana A so lazem ayeb 7q B! 
    Now I only bring stuff for my in-laws ;p gotta be a sn3a chana

    wala a7ib feta7tay sayara 3ezmena! u got promoted 3ezmena!
    shako?!

    il wa7id lazem ya36e min 5a6rah, and I HATE obligations!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:38 AM

      Bs if u bring 3la meshtahatich ma yz3loon? B itgool yebtay for A ma yebtelee?!

      LooooL 3afiya 3la il chana il san3a 😀

      Reply

      • Posted by noora on December 29, 2010 at 1:06 PM

        mara yebt 7q cousin B, o 6arat bohatha cuz ana ma ashofha ila bil sina 7sina! its just that that thing thakarni feeha and I thought why not!

        o ily ib yez3al 3ala qolat yadity; ily yabeni 7ayah allah wily ma yabeni e7afthah allah 🙂 wallah edenya arya7 chethy ;p

        Reply

  4. I always get my friends good gifts when I come back, but I dont like them when they come back ang give me something silly that I dont like, well comeon u know my taste or what do I like, why do I always get something cheaper and not nice!!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:39 AM

      true… when u get someone a soo’3a you either get something that even though it’s cheap it doesn’t feel cheap like chocolates for example or bring something san3… inama something to make others feel inah cheap malah da3ee… not brining a soo’3a would be a better option…

      Reply

  5. waaaaaay ayaaam , i hate salfat el9oogha cuz ayaamha kena bas our family elee nsafer o khalate o 3yalhom ma ysafroon o ng3ad n7oos with mom blsoog 7ag el9oogha

    lama bedaw ysafroon , salaft el9oogha ra7at so ma7ad yablnaa shay o kilh a7er omee b halsalfaa 😛

    walah ana ashtree 7ag mom and dad , o my sister bas , o 7ag hubby lama akon msafra alone

    elbaje ayeblhom mathlaan kakaw or 7lo a7e6a yoom elzawara

    3ndee group mn rfejate lazm nyeeb 7ag ba3ath bas tadreen shno ?? postcards , or simple stuff mn elcountry elee ana feha bas chthe bas mako klafa 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:55 AM

      weee ya 7afeth… 3ogob hal sneen kilha mako soo’3a!

      Ee momtaz kakaw 7g il jamee3 yom il zwara yaklonah o khalas 😀

      zain wallah your friends yefr7oon bel postcards… wallah ana 3ndi wanasa… ako awadm lo etyeben lohom little stuff o postcards may zamzam ma y6ahrech min ilsanhom 3ogob :S

      Reply

  6. Posted by Ananas on December 28, 2010 at 3:53 PM

    well lil mo8arbeen f86
    cause people arent thankfull anymore
    tism3een kalam oo t3lee8at :@ (2l shrha moo 3alaikom 3aly ana)
    low mo yayib soo’3a 27san
    lol…

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:56 AM

      bel thab6… mako shay y3jeb il awadm abdan… o laman ohma ysafroon baskoota ma yeshteroon soo’3a for people!

      Reply

  7. there are two or three good friends that i always get them something, even if its a one day trip.
    i just like getting them gifts because i know their taste and i know they appreciate it and won’t feel obligated to get me something in return.
    also, my parents, brothers, grandmothers and one special aunt.

    the rest, if i find something, i’ll get it to whoever, but mo lizoom

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:57 AM

      the rest ma yz3loon?! bs wallah zain itsaween dam inhom they appreciate it o don’t read too much into it yestahloon

      Reply

  8. Well soo`3a used to be a big deal in mid 80’s early 90’s when Kuwait did not have most of the stores we have now! So people actually appreciated such gifts such as PJs from M&S or clothes from Zara (people traveling to Spain) now most of the stores fl Kuwait…oo most people travel to the same places fa when u travel it sucks u spend most of ur trip looking for something “unique” and different to bring back home… plus in my case i go back and forth to the States fa i get sick and tired of trying to find new gifts for people…i started limiting the gifts to buying for the whole family instead of each member …and like u said my sister and brother ghair cause u end up purchasing the lists they ask for 😛

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:58 AM

      El7een il nas takha9o9 finding something mo mawjood bel q8… not necessarily as a soo’3a but to brag about in Q8… but true when want to bring chocolate to Q8 we always search for new chocolate mo nazel il q8 still…

      Reply

  9. wallah i still do for ppl close to me ! bs i see ur point some feels them as a burden that they have to bring u something back ! the meaning of 9oogha that u remembered the person even when u r away o tanq9teela something .. yes everything now is available through internet or in q8 but still el 9oogha etwanis 😛 but for ppl ely a7es enna they feel they have to give back i try to avoid giving them much 😛

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 11:59 AM

      yes that’s it it’s more of a nooqsa than a gift! o ana 3n nafsi a7eb il sowaye’3 either give or recieve… it’s just the idea behind it… that someone abroad has remembered you o bought you something for you… it’s just lovely…

      Reply

  10. Posted by giggles on December 29, 2010 at 9:11 AM

    yes i sometimes do only to my close family members and friends

    Reply

  11. i always remember my close friends and family members
    so i buy simple things like PJs,flats shoes,,,etc

    o a7b y36ony soo’3a as well 7atta law choco bar
    at least ohom tethakkerony
    bs akeed ma az3al mn elly ma eyeeb

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 12:35 PM

      ee ma yeswa min yz3al 9ara7a… el deniya ma teswa… you can’t make people remember you ‘3asob b3dain marrat el nass tekhtelef thoroofha you never know what happened to them in the safra…

      Reply

  12. I still give and receive 9oo’3a from/for the family, very close friends .. I understand where you coming from saying that it’s not getting appreciated as before but it definitely brings me joy and happiness every single time 🙂 3asaha 3ada ma tenge6e3 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 31, 2010 at 12:52 PM

      Ee wallah 3asaha 3ada ma tenge6e3… bs madry laish il awadm gamaw yefhomonha ‘3ala6!

      Reply

      • Posted by Q80 In Denver on January 3, 2011 at 7:37 PM

        lol! eshloon!?

        Reply

        • Posted by danderma on January 4, 2011 at 1:02 PM

          ya emdoon boozhom if they see the things you bring… as in inah mo 3ajebhom inah you could’ve done better… ya amma they show you inah now you brought a soo’3a lamzomeen they bring you one… y3ni shay malah da3ee 9ra7a…

          Reply

  13. i always buy lots of 9ogha , and when i get back home and open my suitcase i realize i brought nothing for me 😦

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on January 1, 2011 at 11:52 PM

      loool u remind me of my mother… she would come back home with bags full of things for every one but when she is done distributing the items she will end up with almost nothing for her self!!!

      Reply

  14. Posted by Aws on January 5, 2011 at 1:27 PM

    Dear… it’s been ages since i visited here… and by Pure accident (or fate) i came across my name .. and the wonderful memory u brought back to me…
    I think i was meant to come here today just to see it… and feel all nostalgic about it… this by no means was a typical so’3a… this was just to let you know how much i wished u were there.. sharing the Japanese delights… as we had shared a great quality time being, Pen Pals 🙂
    you have already presented me with so many intriguing stories, witty remarks, thoughtful advice… this was the least i could bring to express how grateful I am to have came across a brilliant girl like you :*

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on January 5, 2011 at 6:52 PM

      :*
      You are the brilliant and creative one wallah… and i am blessed to have you as a friend and a part of my life ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

