10 Reasons Why I suffer as a Vegetarian in Q8 :s

1- The eternal conversation you have on daily basis is: Vegetarian y3ni shino? y3ni Ma akel la7am… Inzain Dyay… wala dyay… enzain semach? wala semach… haaaaaaaaaw 3yal eshtakleen?!

2- People actually think you are putting on an act to attract attention…  like ur a daloo3a and saying “way meat la2 way”…  and that with a little firmness and “3ain 7amra” Directed towards you at the table you will suddenly become “normal” again! Others would actually pray for your “Allah yahdeech” haw? Shelsalfa?! Whatever!!!

3- You dread visiting people over meals since almost 99% of the time the only vegeterian dishes served are rice & salad alone. If you are planning on eating in a gathering you must provide your own food or else suffer starvation. Chances are what you bring with you won’t be served and you will actually be starved anyways.

4- Old pushy ladies would try and force you to eat meat. If you refuse -and i do- they will start calling you things like “3asra” “De3la” “Mayga” “Mo Metrabiya” “Ma teste7ee”…

5- Sly people would present you with food items saying “Ma feeh la7am kilish”… you bite into it and you see pieces of minced meat and then they would exclaim “ee feeh eshwaya eshda3wa”… AUUUUUUUUGH

6- Ignorant people would constsantly offer you meat/chicken/fish dishes even though you have just said for the millionth time I AM A VEGETARIAN I DO NOT EAT MEAT… it’s like they are waiting for you to slip and then they will trimph over you! Fat Chance!

7- Deciding to go out to restaurants with friends or family frustrtates them (shakel ib Gaucho ana?) and trying to accomodate your needs within the menu at hand feels like a big hassle. It’s like you are sending out a bad vibe or something that ruins the mood if you ask for too many changes and the poor waiters are often confused regarding your request. Indian restaurants are my favorite by the way since half the menu is vegeterian 😀

8- People accuse you of having a poor diet and malnutrition and whenever you say you are sick they would point out that “ee mo ma takleen you are a vegeterian”… SHAKO?!

9- People who try to “handle” you gently… starting with your vegeterianism history and after a thorough investatigation they will drop the ultimate argument on your head to show you how wrong you are and that you can’t get away from this one “Allah allowed us to eat meat!” Wa ne3ma Be Allah ana ma gelt lokom la takloon la7am walla gelt 7ram don’t kill animals… walaw inhom yaksron kha6ry i admit… bs i am a vegeterian because I HATE THE TASTE OF MEAT THEREFORE I DONT EAT IT! KAIFI yah!

10- Dietritians cannot deal with you in this country. They are used to giving out grilled chicken breast for lunch and almost no one can give me a diet menu with vegeterian options. Same goes for diet centers and meal providers out there.  Therefore if i want to go on a professional diet i should be the one conducting it 😦

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shareefah on December 27, 2010 at 1:22 PM

    I have been a Vegan since 1992 and never encountered any problems. Even when I was pregnant I ate the same food. Also I eat my meals early, Breakfast 6:30am, Lunch 12:30pm or 1pm + Dinner 7pm. Then if I have an outing, I am safe because I eat then go. It saves one from having those hunger bangs if the food is not to ones liking. In restaurants I eat an appetizer or a Salad. If I’m super hungry, you will see me with crispy French Fries (something I love). I also have to say that I grew up in a semi vegetarian Home + atmosphere. I also wanted to tell you that I enjoy your bloggs & you take great effort in your writing which makes your bloggs fun to read. Thank you + good luck 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 27, 2010 at 2:36 PM

      You are most welcome thank you for your kind words 😀

      But what do you do when you go to an elders house for a 3azeema? and all they serve is qoozi? and they expect you to dig in ?!

      Reply

  2. Posted by noora on December 27, 2010 at 1:49 PM

    tben esij I have a friend who is vegetarian type 3yara! zaraqt wauid sowalif 3leha wehe ma 7asat lol :p mean no!

    bs my grandmother is vegetarian sij! I cannot help but think SHINO kanat takil ayam awal? m3adas or mwash mako shay!!!!

    I understand ur frustration bil 3zayem, maskena granma ete2azam so always lazim enyeb shay edible 3shanha

    try fortheloveofcooking-recipes.blogspot.com
    good veg dishes 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 27, 2010 at 2:37 PM

      y7leelha your grandmother! She might be the very first vegeterian in Q8! 3ad awal kilish mako 3ndohom yammah ir7amenee!!! Eshloon maskeena she survived hal 7anna wel ranna?!

      Reply

  3. Posted by wicked on December 27, 2010 at 6:26 PM

    THANK YOU!!

    you just summarized all of my misery for well my ENTIRE life, I’ve been a vegetarian since i was 9

    the biggest thing that annoys me is the detective friends like “HAAA i saw at fridays you said you’re vegetarian what the hell did you eat there ”

    6ool 3omry aroo7 m6a3em o adaber roo7i mno 7a6kom detective !! and in any restaurant in the world you’d find vegetarian dishes, sounds weird but yeah i like eating salad and french fries and it completely satisfy me

    every year I promise myself that I’m gonna add fish to my diet, let’s see if i stick to this resolution this time

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 27, 2010 at 11:01 PM

      wow so fridays have no mozzarella cheese sticks, no salads, no desserts and no nachos?! ykoon 9aydeenich y7leelhom 🙂

      Why would you want to add fish?! Mo ‘3a9eb u eat it i can’t stand it kilish… etha 3la omega things ako capsules sha7leelhom ma fehom wala shay 😀

      Reply

      • Posted by wicked on December 28, 2010 at 12:28 PM

        it’s mostly about starting a healthy habit, when people find out I’m vegetarian they gasp and point otwards my belly ” but your over weight???!!!!” as if potato and chocolate is not vegetarian :S

        so i wanna add some healthy protein into my diet and even though I’ve never tasted fish since I was 7 or 6 I think I’m gonna give it a try 😉

        Reply

        • Posted by danderma on December 28, 2010 at 12:54 PM

          LooooL the best things in life (chocolates <3) are indeed vegetarian 😀

          Best of luck… i wouldn't touch a fish if i was paid 1 million KD :S

          Reply

  4. Posted by Jazz on December 28, 2010 at 1:23 AM

    PROUD TO BE VEGGIE (10 years now )
    one of the main reasons i became veggie was the Linda Mcartney’s frozen food i’d get when i was in the UK i realised how healthy my diet was and i decided to stick with it and funny enough my blood group is better suited in digesting vegetables and fruits then meat i read it in an article once,i eat wherever i go even hardee’s(swiss mushroom without meat) i remember once ordering something in a resturant without meat and the waiter told me the price wont change and i snapped back i didn’t expect it too!!!

    As for your 3zeema issue i don’t suffer that but i do when i go to wedding’s i’ll be the one with bread and salad on her plate =D and you know what who cares? love the life you live and live the life you love

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 28, 2010 at 1:05 PM

      In Mcdonalds and Hardees i always order (Mcroyal without burger or Big Delux without Burger)… it tastes the same with half the calories and i am not missing out on anything!!!

      Oooh it happened before… some restaurants think you are removing the meat to have a cheaper dish… a cheap notion really since not one restaurants have discounted my dishes which are originally meat based so why should they think it’s a habit for cheap people is beyond me!

      Exactly who cares… i eat what i want to eat… i am not sorry for my self… why should people feel sorry and make excuses on my behalf is beyond me!!!

      Reply

  5. you should think of starting your own diet center thingy, providing vegeterian and vegan diets. anything can be achieved with a little research

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 28, 2010 at 1:03 PM

      I think you need a certified dietritian to do that in Q8… then again how many q8ys who are vegetarians and wanting to go on a diet are there? not many…

      Reply

  6. Posted by romeya on December 28, 2010 at 12:55 PM

    Danderma am a club member and i agreee with all of what u said .;….

    Reply

  7. Posted by Latifa Al Muraikhi on December 29, 2010 at 2:19 PM

    im allergic to dairy and i know how you feel .. i go through the same thing 59o9an with the old ladies i don’t know why they still wanna force dairy down my throat thinking ill magically heal !

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 29, 2010 at 7:44 PM

      Exactly it might very well harm you! Why on earth do they think that forcing people to do what they think is right would end up in good results? wallah el3yayez ybeelhom telling off!

      Reply

  8. Tried it once for almost a year. I got the same reactions but I gave up, not because of people .. but because of I was gaining weight! plus its too hard to do it in Kuwait. I recommend at least you add fish.

    Reply

  9. Posted by peace on January 7, 2011 at 12:40 AM

    actually, i once got really fed up from the meat my nutritionist was giving me so i asked him for a vegetarian diet instead, and he gave me one. i dont think its an issue really, you should try him out its bader nasrallah

    Reply

  10. Posted by Areej on January 9, 2011 at 10:02 PM

    I think the same goes for anybody who follows a strict diet plan..I’ve been losing weight in a slow and healthy way counting calories for almost 2 years (25 kg almost at goal)..and sometimes it feels like ppl are out to get me! forcing me to order junk food and giving me dirty looks when I don’t..it’s frustrating when u keep refusing that fat drenched baklava they’re offering over and over again..hang in there it’s tough in our region to stick to a healthy or specific lifestyle that is against the norm but if u don’t eat fish doesn’t that make u a vegan? or do u still eat dairy? It’s awesome being a vegetarian hopefully I’ll get there someday or even close like a pescatarian 😛
    love ur blog by the way greetings from KSA 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

