Things 2 Do in London: Gordon Ramsay’s Plane Food!

Since i get so nervous on the day i am travelling back to Q8 i usually only have breakfast and skip lunch… therefore by the time i go past customs into the tax free area in Heathrow Terminal 5 i would be STARVING…

Knowing that the only meal that would await me on the plane is hours away and is actually a gooey greasy mushroom rissotto… i would always have dinner in Terminal 5 before i board the plane. This time i had my dinner in Gordon Ramsay’s Plane Food on the first floor…

Posh setting and groomed waiters… a nice menu with many options to choose from. We were presented with bread and butter which i have nibbled on happily while waiting for my order…

I usually have a carbohydrate loaded meal before i board the plane so i opted for French Fries and a Vegetables Pasta without cheese (picorino & mozzarella) as dairy upsets my stomach now adays.

 Butootee had the chickpea, lentil, and corriander soup only since his nerves prevents him from eating something heavy before boarding the plane.

Sadly my pasta arrived with cheese grated on top. I was really disappointed. But then every single restaurant i have been to in the UK would grate cheese on my pasta even if i specificially ask them not to… i decided to suck it up and bite into it, i didn’t have much time left and i was too hungry to complain and send it back…

I only took two bites from my pasta when suddenly our waiter swooped in, grabbed the plate, apologized profusely for the kitchens mistake and  ran to the kitchen! 2 minutes later he appeared apologizing again and assuring me that my new pasta will be ready in a matter of minutes… and maybe 3 minutes later i had a brand new hot and bubbling vegeterian pasta without cheese placed in front of me!!! Talk about great service! and i didn’t even open my mouth!!!

and the thing i liked the most about Plane Food is their Plane Picnic Bag! Basically you choose an appetizer, a main dish, and a dessert from a menu and they will pack it for you in this compact orange bag to carry on the plane! You can enjoy tasty gourmet food whenever you feel like eating on your trip!!! Price tag? £11.95!!!

Very nice indeed… especially when you are a vegeterian who order vegeterian meals and the airlines make the mistake of thinking you have the same dietary needs as a goat… no more disgusting plane food for me… next time insha2 Allah 😀

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kinz on December 15, 2010 at 11:43 AM

    My last trip through London I booked a day room at the Sofitel, had a shower and nap and then hopped over to Terminal 5. First to the Whysmith bookstore (its a tradition for me) and then to Gordon Ramsey’s Plane Food. I had whatever my little heart fancied. The soup I wanted to try wasn’t available but I made up for that with duck salad and a steak dinner. (I’m not quite vegetarian). When I looked at the steak it seemed over-cooked. Immediately the maitre showed up to explain the difference between French version medium-rare and British-version medium rare. French is more true in my book and British is more medium well. The service was impeccable the food was decent in fact it was the best airport food I’ve ever had in London and next time inshallah I’m planning to take the carry-on meal with me. No playing around with dodgy airplane food!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 15, 2010 at 2:28 PM

      Their service is indeed amazing… i thought Gordon Ramsy was more into the French school of cooking instead of the British school?!

      It doesn’t even feel like the airport anymore… it’s just like you have stepped out for a relaxing moment away from all the hustle and bustle and crowds!

      If you go and try it before i do i want a review plus pictures please 😀

      Reply

  2. Posted by giggles on December 16, 2010 at 9:56 AM

    3alaykom bil 3afia, 7asafa e7na we always fly on Emirates fa manro7 terminal 5 😦

    Reply

  3. I tried it last year! I’m trying to remember what I ordered .. mm .. I can’t really remember but what I know is that I had a good experience .. a gourmet food suited for a quick bite to eat before traveling especially if you have a limited time before boarding the plane.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on December 18, 2010 at 12:59 PM

      It is! Eating there is like doing one last good non travel related thing before you board the plane… it feels like ur sitting in a restaurant in the heart of London not in Terminal 5!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

