Things 2 Do in London: Afternoon Tea at Camellia’s Tea House!

On my last day in London I planned to meet with FourMe for a good bye chat in the evening. We decided to meet in Carnaby Street since both of us were in that area…

I knew of a small tea house in Kingsly Court, a favorite shopping place of mine in Carnaby Street that I have posted about before (here) so I asked FourMe if she wanted to have a cup of tea in there to try it out and to post about it later on and she agreed…

Kingsly court as usual was filled with fairy lights and buzzing with shoppers. It’s just such a great little place to be in London! I knew that the Tea House I wanted was upstairs so we went to the first floor…

And we saw this sign at the stairs!!! The Camellia Tea House is on the 2nd floor. Fourme was ready to kill me for she had to go another flight of stairs but makeena she didn’t argue much :*

She also waited on the first floor while I dangled over the railing to take this picture of the Tea House 😀

And we finally made it to the second floor 😀

Peering through the window it looked like the place was packed! I went  inside to try and see if there was a table available and they told me that there are none now and whatever is free is already reserved and it would be about a 10 minutes wait… I told them I would be back in 10 minutes time and we went to check out the store next door which by the way is worth a visit.

10 minutes later and we were squeezed into a table. The place was warm and very cosey with two walls lined up with jars of Tea Leaves with strange and funky names and a table in the middle for tea supplies. A big sign announced “No Photography” so I didn’t take any photographs of the store itself, such a pity since it would have portrayed just how homey and welcoming it was. All the tables around us had people with Afternoon Tea trays so I ordered us one at the till with two early grey tea pots… and then we waited for our teas.

The good thing about the tea they brought is that it’s already brewed: no tea bags and no tea leaves to strain and no waiting for the tea to be dark enough for you to drink… you pour right away and it was delicious!

Next came the tray laden with yummy goodies!

There were a brownie, the only thing my fussy darling Fourme would touch from the tray!

A very yummy very moist cake 😀

Really good scones… maybe the best I have tried so far…

Jam for my scone…

And the infamous clotted cream…

Egg sandwiches and Cheese & Cucumber Sandwiches…

S o we had so much fun… eating –me- and drinking and talking over the tea… I didn’t want to leave but we had to since the store closes at 7 and it was already 7 to 😦

And last but not least, we waited for the next table’s occupants to leave so we could grab their milk jug and photograph it since it was very cute and Fourme liked it so much… problem is they were still near the table and they saw it snatch it but what the hell they were leaving anyways 😀

If you want to try some afternoon tea during your shopping, I would HIGHLY recommend Camellia’s Tea House… it was the best and most fun I had in London this year and my favorite amongst all other afternoon teas I had…

For more information and directions to Camellia’s tea room, check their website http://www.camelliasteahouse.com/

 

 

 

10 responses to this post.

  1. 3alaikum bil3afya both:*

    Reply

  2. Posted by q80 on December 8, 2010 at 10:53 AM

    I want to be in London !! Every post tortures me more.

    Reply

  3. Alah ysam7ich for making me go up all those steps *kicks her in the leg* .. Awwww I had fun too :** la ysm3ich butootee and gets pissed that u had more fun with me :p next time we do dorchester afternoon tea 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by giggles on December 8, 2010 at 11:22 PM

    3alaykom bil 3afia, my mom just loves your london posts kil youm etgoli go check danderma blog she if she posted anything new about what to do in london. kil ma u post something etgoli we should try that 7e6eh bil lista hehe 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

