Blast from the Past: Tin Tin Comic Books!

Once upon a time when Re7ab Complex wasn’t all about video games, there was a library in the basement called “3alam Thaqafat El6efel”… they made subscribtions for kids and sold educational books and toys… they also sold Arabic Tin Tin Comics.

My father came home one day with a bag full of Arabic Tin Tin comics for me to read bought from that library. I remember my sheer joy at grabbing the bag and running to my room… flipping through the pages will all the happiness in the world. 

I also know for a fact that the first British book store i walked into was WH Smit in 1987. I walked alone, browsed the English books -i spoke zero english then- and then grabbed my self a Tin Tin & the Cigar of the Pharos book and bought it. I remember flipping through the pages wishing i knew how to read English to understand it. The book was never translated into Arabic, so were many other books -a bit racist towarda arabs and africans and russians- … i kept that book. and when i finally was capable of reading and conversing in English, many years later, i took the book out and read it from cover to cover. I still have it. My first ever English Book.

I still love Tin Tin. My favorite character is Captain Haddock especially when he encounter Bianca Castaphior! I can’t stop laughing! Do you remember Tin Tin?! Do you still read it?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Lol!!! I have the whole collection too but in French ;p and they brought out a DVD of the cartoons for the whole collection 🙂 Yes Captain Haddock cracks me up ;p and when I was younger I had a huge crush on him..I wanted to marry a man like him ;p

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on November 10, 2010 at 1:40 PM

      Hehehe i remember i had 2 tapes of the cartoons… lool you had a crush on Captain Haddok? I love him more than tin tin but not at crush levels :p

      Reply

  2. I have the entire english collection, plus the DVD releases, plus the Radio plays made by the BBC…Billions of bilious blue Blistering Barnacles, I think I’m a fanatic!! (remember what happens when he meets his old Friend Chester?)

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on November 14, 2010 at 10:48 PM

      chester was haddoks friend right? What was the name of tin tin’s friend? The one whose plane crashed over the Tibet? Chang?!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

