Childhood in Q8 Means: Al Matkaba Al Khathra2!

 

As i was walking in the Book Exhibition my eyes fell upon the neat rows of green little story book i once adored as a child. I think this might be the first ever series of books i collected… the stories were wonderful and there were so many of them. At one point i had most of the books. I remember me and my cousins reading those and having a good time. I simply cherish those books. I had kept my collection stored at home until maybe the year 2000 and intended for them to be kept for my future children but then my mother like all mothers decided to declutter and they were lost forever 😦

I will be buying them again Insha2 Allah for my children to read. Such great books.

Do you remember Al Maktaba Al Khathra2 books?

24 responses to this post.

  1. GOD!!!
    mn wain 6alla3teehom? hehe
    I remember those, every week I used to buy 1 book and read it during the weekend! ❤

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 10:02 AM

      LoooL ebro7hom 6el3ole :p
      How lovely your weekends must have been… i remember the anticipation and the excitement i felt every weekend on Wednesday when my father brought over something for me to read…

      Reply

  2. Yes! I LOVED those books, and like you had a whole collection and they too got lost:( been trying to find where they sell them ever since for my baby sis and bro. Such clever stories

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 10:01 AM

      Very clever stories. Well written and had a point!
      Ashwa available in Ma3rath il Ketaab! Hopefully they will bring them back in the upcoming years!

      Reply

  3. I had the whole collection and I absolutely loved reading them!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 10:00 AM

      Same here! Only i don’t have the collection anymore! It makes me very sad to lose them after all these years 😦

      Reply

  4. OMG i used to love them! I really wanted to be a writer when I was a kid, I even wrote a short story inspired by these books …I still have it! lol I might post it on my blog 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 9:56 AM

      oooh i wanted to be a writer when i was young!
      Why on earth are you hiding your stories! Do share 😀

      Reply

  5. Posted by f7ee7eely on October 27, 2010 at 10:13 AM

    Dude are you sure we’re not related?~~ LOL

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kinz on October 27, 2010 at 11:06 AM

    Akhhhh you remind me of some pain. I had built up a beautiful collection of books for my children, fabulous story books, scientific books, diagram books, books I had myself as a child. One day I went to the library in my house and found them all missing. Hubby decided that since the kids were teenagers, there would be no reason to hang on to the books. He had my staff put them all into bags and haul them off. I was heartbroken, he should have asked me first I was planning to keep them for my grandchildren one day. We are talking thousands of dollars worth of books and priceless memories. At least two of my kids are readers, alhamdulillah maybe that is the legacy I passed down to them.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 1:24 PM

      OMG that’s horrible!
      Why would he do such a thing? I never knew men decluttered! It’s usually the men who act like cave men and keep useless things for ever!
      But those are books! Good books! Even the children could have been attached to them!

      Such a pity 😦 i feel for you!

      Reply

  7. Posted by Um maryam on October 27, 2010 at 1:53 PM

    when I had my daughter, I vowed to raise her in the way I grew up. I want her to enjoy the simple pleasures in life before she gets corrupted by her peers, so I kept a box containing the things that I loved as a child. Funnily it includes issues of the green bookstore 🙂 she’s only one so I cannot wait till she’s old enough so I can start reading them for her. Thank you so much for these nostaligic posts

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 2:26 PM

      you are most welcome 😀
      Even the cartoons of the 80’s were better more meaningful 😦 growing up in the 80’s was the best!

      Reply

  8. Posted by Jane on October 27, 2010 at 5:57 PM

    Hi,
    They sometimes surface in the 100 fils shops. In Salmiya high street (which I think is gonna get demolished? – I haven’t been in Kuwait for a few years) or Souq Salmiya.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 8:51 PM

      Salmiya high street? The one next to Family book shop? Most of the old buildings were torn down…
      But souq salmiya? Now that’s an interesting thought! Thanks!

      Reply

      • Posted by Jane on October 29, 2010 at 1:59 PM

        Yes, by Salmiya high street I mean where Family bookshop was/is. If you walk towards the middle of the street (passing bhs, oasis on your right – the opposit direction from marina mall) in the middle there’s a small square where the cars can’t pass through. on that square they have this 2-3 floor “shopping center” that has several 100 fils shops on the ground floor.
        Souq Salmiya has these shops near several of it’s exits. But the variety and quality is very unpredictable, but I have bought this kind of book exactly there once – but many years ago.
        I also saw this series last year in a proper bookshop, maybe in Mishref or Hawally (can’t remember) but they were sold for maybe 500 fils or 1KD each.

        Reply

        • Posted by danderma on October 29, 2010 at 4:01 PM

          Hmmm i am not sure if the building you just described has been demolished or not… i would have to check it out and see 🙂

          Thanks hon! Many people are looking for them locally

          Reply

  9. Posted by Mona on October 28, 2010 at 4:55 PM

    Awwhhh OFCOURSE i do , They are amazing stories wallah !!!! I couldn’t believe my eyes when i saw them at the book fair

    Reply

  10. […] this post because it will be horrifying on so many levels (for myself that is) LOL inspired by Danderma’s post on AlMaktaba AlKhathra, or was it “Alselsela AlKhathra?” I decided to write my post on […]

    Reply

  11. Ok, I just shared my childhood experience with these books lol check it out 😉

    Reply

  12. wow… thoes were my favourate bedtime stories =)

    Loves thoes green little books..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

