Blast From the Past: PlayMobil Toys!

I was rooting through some of my old boxes trying to declutter my life… when i found this ancient little frayed catalougue with a note from one of my cousins written on it. I can’t believe i have totally forgotten about Playmobil toys!

I was a fan of Playmobil for as far as i could remember as a child. We used to call it “Lego” for some reason and to be frank we still do. The standard collection was blue and was set in current times with ambulances and police cars and schools. I remember my mother promising to buy me the Ambulance when Kuwait was freed from Iraq in 1990. I am still waiting for her to buy it for me :p

I still remember the day the pink oldies collection of this booklet started selling in the UK. It was 1991 and i was in Woolworths Edgeware Road and i bought my first oldie collection (#5320 the living room) and went home to play with it. I still love the oldie collection. If you collect all rooms you can furnish the whole house which i had been intending to buy some day. I never got to. I still have my Playmobil toys but a lot of the pieces are missing thanks to my brother who loved chewing and breaking and losing toys. I wouldn’t mind buying the house and furnishing it again now 🙂

Did you love to play with Playmobil? Do you have a certain toy you dreamed of buying and never got around to!?

 

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!  

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. 🙂 أحبهممم
    كان عندنا منهم وايد ماأعتقد في بيت عندهم كثرنا
    كنا نسوي مدينة كاملة بيوت وقلعة وسيارات وطيارات حتى كان عندنا بير ماي حقهم
    وكنا نسميهم الرجال
    ههههه مادري شكو

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 1:30 PM

      لووول الرجال؟ إشمعنى؟
      لا إحنا انسميهم الليجو مع انه مالهم علاقة في بعض… كنانتيمع في بيتنا أو بيت وحدة من خالاتي و كل من عنده بقشة فيها الألعاب و نفرش الألعاب و نلعب بكل سعادة و هناء
      أحلى أيام العمر و الله

      Reply

  2. Posted by Kinz on October 27, 2010 at 12:43 PM

    I had no idea that they made toys for the girl’s market, my childhood was spent with Lego and for us the big deal was when they added wheels to some of the bricks and some of those transparent pieces so we could build windows in our houses! What my kids played with was so far advanced it’s like a dinosaur and a horse. I usually got what I wanted in terms of toys but I remember one year we were exchanging presents at school. I took a gift collection of play cosmetics as my gift to exchange. I wanted it so badly for myself because my mom would never buy me something like that. I was shocked to see the girl who got it exchange it for a jump rope? Then to really make the day special my gift turned out to be a pair of cufflinks with the design of boys playing soccer. They were beautiful but what was a girl going to do with a pair of cufflinks?

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 27, 2010 at 1:28 PM

      Pair of cufflinks! Couldn’t it be exchanged?
      Even a boy wouldn’t want a pair of cufflinks!

      That reminded me of the birthday bash… some woman brought me bed sheets. Mind you it wasn’t some girlie bed sheets fit for a child with colors and cartoons. The ugliest white bed sheets with some navy blue shape printed all over them… like a giant playing card!!!

      Reply

  3. Posted by jamie on December 4, 2010 at 10:15 AM

    If you are interested I’m going to be putting many play mobil products on e bay…one of them happens to be this house fully furnished?…I still have to go through it and make sure that it is all there…just thought you might like to know….I will try to let you know at facebook as soon as I can…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

