10 Reasons Why: I dread Salon Makeups in Q8!

1- It is almost impossible to get an appointment. Everyone is fully booked weeks before hand. What am i supposed to do hire a fotrune teller to tell me when i am going to be invited this upcoming year?

2- If IF you are lucky enough to get an appointment… it is always in a bad time. Like 12 pm or 3 pm and the bloody party starts after 8!

3- There is always someone in your chair at your appointment time getting the “last” touches done. She looks in the mirror and says “no do this a little lighter” or “no this is a little heavier” or “la la mo 7elo redo this” etc. etc. … WILL YOU JUST LEAVE ALREADY!

4- After the clock ticks away and you are almost ready to murder the lady before you… she gets up and it’s your turn. You settle in her place and the chair is all hot after her and you do not feel happy or comfortable at all and you are already late for your hair appointment.

5- You produce a printed picture of what you want to be done exactly (the picture above for example) and the makeup lady always scrunches her face and thinks for a while, disapprovingly! Mind you i am always more of a Paris Hilton makeup person than a Haifa Wahbi makeup person so there is not much to it. Pretty ABC of makeup! Why are they always confused is beyond me?

6- The makeup lady would always ALWAYS start with the sentence “your skin is very dry”… even though you are following a strict dermatologist regime for your face… have had a facial the day before and made especially sure to have a rejuvenating mask on just before you came just so you do not hear that sentence. My skin is NOT very dry lady… it is NOT remotely dry… i will shut up now.

7- Now comes the actual makeup application. God knows how many times have that brush touched some one elses. Did the lady before me have facial fungus? Maybe she did? Will i get infected? Maybe i will… the makeup lady is not a dermatologist… she doesn’t know now does she? How hygenics are those utensils? What about the expiry dates of the products? I know it’s the paranoia talking but still it is NOT a happy experience!

8- It takes for EVER to apply that simple thing you wanted. A cold liquid here… a sponge there… layer upon layer upon layer of things applied on your eyes… you resist the urge to open up mid application and look in the mirror to see what’s happening… poking and prodding at your face and you try to estimate when she will be done… why is she applying so much? Why can’t they be done in 5 minutes? After all the women they put makeup for you would think they have developed a speedy technique or something… GET IT OVER WITH WILL YOU?

9- You look in the mirror and feel like crying. This thing staring back at you is not you. The mask you have on is itching and you feel like you are in someone else’s skin. Especially when the makeup lady ends the session by saying “the picture you showed me didn’t have much makeup on and i thought you needed heavier makeup…” Wallah? you thought what? WHAT? Whose face is it? mine or yours? Too late to do anything about it now… they always tend to over do it anyways… URRRGH!

10- Now comes the most fun part… REMOVING THE GUNK! You wash and wipe and cleanse and wipe and wipe and empty half the soap in the bathroom and half of your makeup remover… you stroke each bloody lash alone and rub to remove the makeup. and you would still wakeup with panda eyes. URRRRGH!

Can’t we go back to the way it was before? When ppl applied bad makeup at home yet still had fun and no one gave them a second glance? No? Then please recommend a good makeup course… or i will boycott all parties and weddings !!!

24 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ahmed on October 6, 2010 at 12:06 PM

    a little tip for removing the make up , use baby wipes ” johnson’s are the best ” they’ll do the trick

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 6, 2010 at 2:06 PM

      Been there… done that… still would wake up with panda eyes… i even washed my eyes out with Baby Johnsons no tears soap after all the wiping and i still ended up with panda eyes 😦

      Reply

  2. Totally agree!! Especially how many people b4 me had used the same make up brushes! It disgusts me!
    I always feel like a tranny with that type of make up … So now I have resorted 2 letting my mom put my make up on 4 me :p

    Reply

  3. IVE NEVER ever went to a salon to put on make up , i do my own , its bloody expensive to stay for only 1 day , shisalfaa !! id rather spend it on food 😛

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 6, 2010 at 2:11 PM

      LoooL you are right it’s quite expensive for something that would last a few hours!!! 70 90 100+ eshda3wa it’s not my wedding y3ni!

      Reply

  4. loooooooool lovely danderma took the words out of my mouth 😛
    kaaaaaaak the part of ur skin is dry my god i almost believed that it is bas 7aram the party day am applying moistriser all day so with foundation wont be drylooking
    any way i only go to make up artist on my brother cosin wedding which mostly they give u the date way far so i get to appoint myy favorate makeup artiist the rest of parties i do it my self 😛

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 6, 2010 at 8:23 PM

      the problem is if i do it my self i would put what i think is already too much but then i look washed out… i can never get the look right o 3adi jedan i have one eye smaller or different than the other :S

      :`(

      Reply

  5. For my wedding reception party, I had to LIE to the lady doing my make-up… I told her I wasn’t the bride and that I was just a friend of the bride getting the make-up done with her… just so I could be sure that she would not do the EXTRA EXTRA NASTY bridal make-up they think looks gorgeous… I still finished with more make-up then I wanted.. but at least I still kinda looked like myself.. lol.. and I told her at the end who I was.. and she wasn’t too happy.. she reckoned I didn’t look like a ‘proper’ bride.. 😀

    Anywayz… great list.. and i must say that I always get all worked up about the sharing of make-up brushes as well.. and I have to shut myself up and stop thinking b4 I get up and run out of the place 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 6, 2010 at 8:24 PM

      LoooL good one! zain sawaytay fehom! they have a certain standard those makeup people and they refuse to listen!!! If they would just listed life would have been more easier !!!

      Reply

  6. Lol jad ’67kteeni. I have to disagree with number 9 sort of. It was my uncles wedding and I stopped at some random salon an 1 1/2 hour before the wedding (I had no idea salons in kuwait were sooo crowded) and stared repeating to the make-up artist exactly want I wanted. It was my first time getting make-up done in kuwait w ana shyfa ilcrazy make-up some people like (?) bas I was satisfied with the result: foundation/blush/lipstick and cat eyeliner. Had she put ilmake-up that I see at times I wouldn’t have paid her. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the name of the salon.

    Reply

  7. I never get my makeup professionally done…especially to avoid point #9!! lol The only time I had it professionally done, was on my sister’s wedding and on my wedding day bs!
    On my sister’s wedding I went to MAC, I gave her a very simple picture with very little makeup…what she did to me made me look like a tiger!! I have no idea how she saw that through the picture I provided!! :S
    of course I went back home and removed half of it off before the wedding!! :/
    Thankfully on my wedding day they actually listened to me and it was very simple.

    Doing your own makeup at home is much better.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 7, 2010 at 9:44 AM

      I suck at applying makeup… i will end up with something even more horrible 😦
      Can’t we like wear mascara and lip gloss and go?

      Reply

      • Posted by Shoosh on October 7, 2010 at 9:59 AM

        i wish we could, malah da3y ALLLL that makeup for just attending a wedding…i wish we could wear work makeup with more eyeliner o bas!

        Reply

  8. Posted by Moody Panties on October 7, 2010 at 8:40 AM

    All you have to do is take off the colored stcikers and order them on each face !!!!! how hard it can be ? 😛

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 7, 2010 at 9:45 AM

      Moody panties i suspect ur talking about rubiks cube… but then there are infact colored eye shadow stickers to be stuck on eye lids… now i am sorry i didn’t buy myself a box!

      Which one is it :p Had your coffee yet ?

      Reply

  9. Posted by sarona on October 7, 2010 at 4:56 PM

    I’ve only had 1 stranger do my make up and that was it for me, ever since I’ve been doing my own make up. Check out youtube you can find some pretty good make up tricks and product reviews.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on October 7, 2010 at 6:56 PM

      I did check you tube and they look so simple yet i know that whenever i implement what i saw it will go horribly wrong 😦

      Reply

  10. Posted by Wicked on October 8, 2010 at 12:44 PM

    the best makeup remover is the sweet almond oil.. i buy mine organic from bait el 9aboon el lebnani in avenues and i apply it around my eyes and lashes .. its PERFECT

    the only time i’ve done my make up in salon was for my brothers melcha.. i looked so horrible and swore never to do it again in any kuwaiti salon .. these women are not make- up artists!! I’ve seen many professional make up artists working their magic and it’s completely different than what they do here

    any ways check up you-tube for make up tutorials
    I recommend pixiwoo and stillGLAMORUS
    these girls are ‘true make up artists’ walla ull benefit alot from them 😉

    Reply

  11. Posted by The One And Only Skinny Freak on October 10, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    totally agreee!!! i just simply just try to look up make up tutorials on youtube , better than having to deal with salons !

    Reply

  12. Daaandyyy!!
    this post is so funny yet so true, especially the “facial fungus” and “not a dermatologist” part lol! thats so something that would go through my head, haha!
    a7san shay just do what i do: i watch make up tutorials on YOUTUBE, they are strangely very educating and addicting lol. o they help a lot! and once you try out the make-up tips, you’ll see the different looks you can achieve!
    fa u’ll get your hair done wherever, and arrive in time to do your own elegant make-up look at the comfort of your own home 😉
    etha tabeen youtube channel recommendations goleele!!
    miss you my july twin ;**

    Reply

Leave a Reply

