Recommended: Mushroom Ketchup!

The last time i was in the UK… i was browsing the shelves of Sainsbury’s when i found this bottle of “Mushroom Ketchup”… Being a big fan of mushroom… i was so happy to find such a product that in my opinion is a cross between ketchup, bbq sauce, and mushrooms.

The description on the back of the bottle states the following:

“This rich cooking sauce was the secret of success of many Victorian Cooks with Steak and Kidney Pies and Puddings, Roast Meats, Sauces and Soups.

Mushroom Ketchup can be used as a marinade for all meats and poultry and also for basting during roasting. Use the resulting pan juices to make a rich dark gravy with the appetising taste and smell of mushroom.

Enriches all brown sauces and soups and makes an excellent flavouring for cream of mushroom soup and mushroom sauces.

Mushroom Ketchup is delicious on grilled chops, kidneys, liver or steak. “

I was planning on getting a bottle back to Q8 with me, but on the last day of my trip i forgot about it. It made me sad to miss on all the experiments i was planning with this lovely ancient bottle (dates back to 1830 by the way)… Until yesterday… i was browsing the Dean & Deluca’s Ramadan Catalog while waiting in the Pinkberry line when i saw this…

Dean & Deluca Stocks it! I don’t have to lug it with me back home anymore!!!

Experiments are back on!

If you are looking for new ingredients to give your dishes an extra kick… this is the product for you 🙂

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!

13 responses to this post.

  1. I was just going to say I saw it at D&D ;p
    I’d like to try it with my stakes 😉 I’m hungrrrrrrryyy! 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 17, 2010 at 1:18 PM

      I have so many plans for it.. grilled cheese and mushroom sandwiches on toast… pasta sauces… mushroom pizza *rubbing hands together*

      Reply

  2. Posted by Halooly on August 17, 2010 at 12:35 PM

    Hiii lol i dont think im brave enough to try it !
    What dates back to 1830! Do u mean the actual bottle or the ketchup itself :p

    Reply

  3. I saw that there too marra sharaita but i didn’t try it.. yalla post some recipes so that i try it..

    Reply

  4. Posted by doona on August 17, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    i want mushroom mayonnaise!
    (i dont really like ketchip ;p

    Reply

  5. yummyy,,,, I love anything with mushrooms ❤

    Reply

  6. When you go to London next time, try the Square Pie Co. in Selfridges, food court entrance side. I know you’re a vegetarian, but I’m sure they’ve got vegi pies. And you have to order it with a side of mash potato and mashed peas, with lots of gravy on top. It’s the first thing I eat when I’m in london. Just amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

