Help Needed: Vitamin D Deficiency Treatment in Q8

A year or 2 ago i began hearing women saying “Vitamin D and Vitamin D”… i thought what is wrong with women… kil yom habeen lohom habba… Vitamin D get in the sun o khalasna… especially inah No9 il q8yat imsaween tan… so why care about Vitamin D Deficiency? Read about the deficiency here…

and then when my friends began stressing about it…  i thought maybe i should check it out as well? I was in a hospital for some blood works and i asked the Doctor if i should get my Vitamin D level checked… and he told me inah it’s not necessiry o all i need to do is sit in the sun 15 minutes a day o that’s it.

Now my baby sister loves the sun o tans all the time. So is one of my friends. Both turned out to have Vitamin D Deficiency! I thought to my self why don’t i try and check my level? I tested it and another friend of mine did… mine came out to be 12, hers 10… the lowest range should be 50!

Why is it important?

A range of illness can stem from vitamin D Deficiency… depression, schizophrenia, cancer, hashashat il 3etham, and a range of other illnesses linked in some way or another to this Deficiency! No wonder 3/4 el q8yeen depressed and complaining all the time! Almost every women who checked it out turned to have Vitamin D deficiency!

Treatment? Pills don’t work, sun exposure daily helps somehow… but the most effective way is by having a course of Vitamin D Injections. They say it’s very painful… i am willing to endure 5 minutes of pain maykhalif…

But it’s not Available in Q8!

No really… people are going around and around looking for them in private hospitals and pharmacies… they bring them very cheap from Egypt and sell them in Kuwait. Now adays i checked and they say they have some in some residential clinics (mostaw9ef) or in Alrazi but for razi you need was6a to give it to you.

If you know, or if you had vitamin D deficiency… would you please share your experience? Where did you go for treatment? and where should we start next?

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!

37 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by May on August 2, 2010 at 2:00 PM

    As I remember, you need to drink milk and expose yourself to the sun, that way vitamin D will be formed.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:41 PM

      Ideally that is the case… but our sun is just too much, you need to be exposed with 40% of ur body showing daily for 30 minutes yalla it makes a difference with time

      Reply

  2. both my aunt and cousin suffer from vitamin D deficiency! My cousin brings her pills from Egypt as u said! but my aunt’s Dr i forgot his name told her that she has to be exposed to the sun daily for 30 minutes naked and the timing of sun should be from 7 til 9!

    That’s all i know! sorry . . . i guess i hv to check mine too!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:43 PM

      ee yegolich lazim shams il fayer… y3ni mo shams il thohor 3ndena… o bema inah metkamkomeem bel 7jab o menkhasheen bel byot o min bab il beet lee il syara fa mako fayda

      check yours!!! eshna6rah? tra mo9ayeb o balawee if its low!

      Reply

  3. My husband has hashasha… he took injections few months ago…and he is taking pills and staying in the sun…If you want agdar awa9i 3alaihom min Egypt… 🙂 Also try Dar AlShifa.. its where we go the injection the first time.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:45 PM

      El ryayeel ye9eer fehom hashasha? Tawne adri!

      Dar el shifa their doctors mo mawjodeen… mom takes my sister there bs il doctors on a vacation… fa thats why i am stuck…

      Reply

  4. Posted by noora on August 2, 2010 at 2:24 PM

    u can get started in al sabah area or in ur polyclinic.
    mom take hers in Al Faiha polyclinic

    Reply

  5. Deary, unfortunately, most Kuwaities suffer from Vitamin D Deficiency, as I was told by my doctor when he was discussing the course of treatment I have to follow. He mentioned the injections, but also discussed the side effects they might have on the kidneys. He then recommended an oral treatment, which I’m taking now.

    They are Vitamin D Drops, called Vidrop, sold in Egypt. Per day, add 1.0 ML to 1/2 or 1/4 glass of milk and drink it, preferably in the morning. I haven’t been able to find these drops here, so my friend was kind enough to send them. Even though this treatment might take a bit longer, the risk of kidney failure is al 7amd Lellah, prevented.

    My mom, sister, brother, and myself are all following the same treatment. Plz Sis make sure when you next see your doctor to consult him regarding the side effects of the injections. Ask him about the drops, he might suggest them as a course of treatment. Enshallah ma tshofoun shar abad o 3asa Rabby ymate3kom bel 9e7a wel 3afya 😉

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:46 PM

      The thing is my sister went on the pills for so long but tey did nothing to her levels of Vitamin D… mom is a doctor so she took her after she was fed up with her results and forced her to get injections… she took one so far

      but good to know about those side effects… i will have to research that…

      Reply

  6. My friend got her dose from Al-Sabah hospital

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:47 PM

      no way aro7 il saba7… darb o gal3at wadreen o ta3alay dawree a7ad ylageech wayh…. mako mokan thanee? did u get tested?

      Reply

  7. Hey! Well im getting treated right now, and it was all easy for me getting my shots;\ My doctor sent me to the mostaw9ef of our community w I get my shots.. it isnt that painfull though, it depends on your body..

    I don’t really know if I’m getting my Vitamen D 3ashan was6a but you can try mostaw9ef al tha7ya since thats where I get my shots;p or I can ask my doctor for you..

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:48 PM

      I will try our mostaw9ef… i cannot believe i have been frantically searching all around o ihe imkaweda bel mostaw9efat!!!

      Ma et3awer etgoleen? Allah yebashrehc bel khair ana mekhtar3a!

      Reply

  8. Posted by N on August 2, 2010 at 3:01 PM

    If u want me to ask my doctor 3ady;p

    Reply

  9. hi there
    awal shay that’s very sweet of u .. a lot of ppl have Vit D deficiency & don’t know abt it
    I myself some cases in which it progressed to osteoporosis
    so all u have 2 do is go 2 el.mostaw9ef ask the doc 4 a Vit D levels blood test, he writes u the paper & u go do it, if the results come + then u show it to the doc & he’ll write u a Vit D injection prescription. so if ur levels r very low u’re likely 2 get 4 shots, one shot a month. if not then 3 would B enough. & ask the doc 2 write u calcium pills cuz ur diet’s calcuim might not B enough .
    p.s, ba3th el.mostaw9efat ma feeha Vit D bel.asaas, so u can take the prescription o go 2 any other mostaw9ef & get it.

    abt it being painful, mo 9ij.. everyone told me it’s painful o ana 7addi a5af mn injections bs it really doesn’t hurt much etha the nurse eedha 5afeefa bs etha la2 then OMG!! may Allah B with u
    e.Shay elly ybe6 el.chabd abt the injection & brings pain is that they inject the drug so very slowly.. 7adda slowly fa it hurts a bit. as far as 4 me ,, the 1st 3 times were normal bs a5er marra 6e7t b2eed mo 6oSh nurse fa I cried my heart out o couldn’t feel my leg 4 a while, I had 2 sit for abt 10 minutes b3dain gemt a3ari.. bs it gets better.
    O bs slamat o ma tShofoon shr =]

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:50 PM

      Yommmaaaaa y3ni it could make you cry that much? My sister cried o became like a spider according o my mom :`(

      How are your levels now?

      El shar ma ayech hon :*

      Reply

      • after el.course u gotta wait 4 6 weeks & then check ur levels again
        o abt the pain it depends.. ana 1st 3 times it was 3adi.. bs a5er marra Allah la yewareech so I guess it depends 3la el.nurse mainly cuz it’s the only variable that changed in my equation ;Pp

        Reply

  10. Posted by amora_hanim on August 2, 2010 at 4:29 PM

    take care dear
    I know that it is linked to having children with autisium
    some one was giving me advose about checking vit D level
    where did you do your test?

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:52 PM

      sej @_@

      Ana akthar shay imkhar3nee inah ysawee mental illnesses… mo nagseen ibro7ah kil shay k2eeb dar madarna !!!

      I took my test at royal 7yat and they sent it to some private lab… bel 7koma the result takes 2 months… i would adivce you get tested in mostashfa dar il shifa ygolon their service is good

      Reply

  11. Posted by C'est la vie on August 2, 2010 at 4:35 PM

    The with me I started to hear about it 2 hrs ago but I did it in May and my result was 25 ,I went to mo9tawsef el jabriya and the Dr wrote 3 injections …one each month I took the first one and next week I have to take the second …..
    The interesting thing that the Dr was doubting the whole thing …he said that it’s like the swign flue since they selled the vaccine every thing stopped …he said that the companies are playing with the reagent that is used in the test so the out come is low reading ………cause why in a sudden all the kuwaities have deficiency ….although Kuwait is a sunny country 🙂 so that was his idea !!!!!!
    But there is something ……i read some where that the rays we need is for vit D is the one coming from the dawn sun till 9:30 am and one hour befor the sun set ….so maybe that why we don’t have enough cause we don’t go out at these hours and also most of us are covered with 7ejab
    Hope I helped 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 2, 2010 at 6:55 PM

      Allah yebashrech bel khair! El jabriya feeha !!!

      Zain we9alna khair… 3yal i will check with them!

      Ee mo Allah yesalmich i7na wain inshof il shams? if we sit outside for 2 minutes inshewaina our sun is too hot to stay outside in… o m3a il 7jab imkamkmeem o ma y7oshna shay… lazim 40% of ur body exposed to that morning sun for 30 minutes daily o yallah + milk milk milk

      mino 3ndah wagt yetshamas a9lan at 7 AM?

      Walla lo ga3da atmasha ib shams london mathalan at 9 am o labsa short o 3elaaq on daily basis ma y9eer fene shay lakin ihnee wain ya 7asra

      Reply

  12. Hey Danderma! last May I checked my Vit.D level and it came out to be 33, They Doctor gave me a prescription to get two injections one month a part, and I did. They were available at our local residential Clinic (mostawsif Alfaiha). They do burn while getting injected, and the muscle will hurt you for the couple following days, but it is not something you can’t bare. So just visit your local (mostawsif) and get your prescribed injections. I’ve been requested to make another blood test after two month from the last injection I had, but that time haven’t arrived yet, and also to take calcium pills (since el deficiency ysabib hashasha), but when I started taking them I discovered that they yft7oon shaheetii big time so I stopped, I thought it wasn’t worth getting fat ;Pp

    Reply

  13. Posted by giggles on August 2, 2010 at 8:36 PM

    i got my injections from i think esma il me7rey clinic in 5aldiya eli yam il jam3eya, mat3awer wayed bas awal shay o ba3daiyn ero7 il 3awar o you get 3 or 4 injections one every month depending on how much you need.

    Reply

  14. Posted by a on August 2, 2010 at 9:49 PM

    Most kuwaitis do have vitD deficiency. Madri etha is a genetic 3nd lkuwaityeen because I do get exposed to the sun a lot. My doctor wasn’t surprised ina 3ndi deficiency bas zafnee lama shaf my 6% :/ and the pills do work. I was prescribed the 50,000 IU once a week. Madri if they’re available in kuwait.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 3, 2010 at 11:38 PM

      hmmm i don’t know about ur pills but the ones my sister used them forever trying to avoid the injections but it didn’t help…

      Reply

  15. Posted by Badra on August 3, 2010 at 8:16 PM

    i discovered that i have Vit D deficency when i was in london in 2006 my dr asked for that test cuz i was in pain and i cant move my joints… so he gave me chewable tabs
    i still take them and buy them from uk with lemon flavour … and i took one injection ,,, the med gives u burning sensatoin

    Reply

  16. What I want to know is WHY don’t they check everything when we do the usual annual blood test?!! What is the point of the blood test ya3ni if it doesn’t go over everything?!@@

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on August 12, 2010 at 9:15 AM

      I think Vitamin D needs a different kind of blood test than the usual… it took them 5 days to get my result to me fa i guess it takes longer as well…

      Reply

  17. Posted by Mona Al Shaikh on August 15, 2010 at 1:43 PM

    my test results gave me 5 ! VitD injection was sold out from Mowasat, Dal Al Shefa and International Clinic, i think they offer it once a week in Al Salam.

    so i decided to go to our local mostawsef ( Qurtoba ) with my private hospital prescription paper. and they said they got it .. it hurt a lot but i guess if u take 2 panadol extra before you take the injection it might help with the pain.

    the doctor said i should take 3 shots (every month one shot) but i decided to take one only becuase of the side effects on the liver .. and start with a 3 months course of Vit D + Calcium pills.. plus adding yogurt and labnah o cheese to my diet.

    4 months laters i did another blood test to check my VitD it reached 98 ;-D

    matshoofeen shar enshaalaah

    Reply

  18. […] Remember my last post when i sought Vitamin D treatment in Q8? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

