Blast from the Past: Casio’s My Magic Diary!

I was rummaging through a drawer filled with junk when i found this little thing! I was confused for a moment trying to place it… then it hit me! That’s my Magic Diary!!!

If i am not mistaken it was back in 1993 when one day an ad appeared for this diary in the news papers… kids went berserk! I remember running to my parents and begging for one IMMEDIATELY! The drive to Al3ejairi Book store in Al Neqra was very exciting as i imagined my self clasping my hands around the tiny little electronic diary!

I couldn’t sleep well that night, i started entering my friends home phone number and drawing their faces with the face recognition thing… it was the one feature that made it so appealing to me! I had so much FUN with that!

I remember the very next day… me showing it off in the morning 6aboor thingy at school… I was the first one to buy it at school! I loved it sooo much i kept it for all those years…

I also remember that there was a model that could send messages to each other with infra red but u needed friends who had a magic diary as well ❤

There is a little problem though, my husband claims that this is his magic diary and not mine… and i say it’s mine! I guess the dispute will be settled when we replace the batteries and check the phone book to see whose friends faces are there… it is MINE!

Do you remember this Magic Diary? did you have one too?

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!


20 responses to this post.

  1. the more posts i read in ur blog, the more i’m convinced we have lots in common. i used to have this one as well!! and showing it off in 6aboor i did that too!!
    its even cuter that ur husband had it as well, although its not really a guy thingy to write diaries 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 28, 2010 at 1:09 PM

      my husband didn’t write diaries.. just saved his friends faces and numbers! He claims his memory was full as he went around and saved every one’s numbers in school!

      Reply

  2. Posted by BlackTulip on June 28, 2010 at 10:34 AM

    waaaih ,, thekrayaat ,, but i don’t remember mine 1993 !!! maybe before that ( e7em ,, i’m older than you 😀 ) ..

    that reminded me of the Label Maker .. oh , the many labels I bought ,, the colors ,, wow ,, ke7 ke7 ,, e’3baaaar 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 28, 2010 at 3:55 PM

      label maker?!

      label maker ma 3ndi zekryat 3leha batatan… how much older are you exactly :p

      Reply

  3. one of my favorite gadgets when i was a kid! I loved mine. After reading your blog i went on a hunting mission at my parents house trying to find mine but unfortunately had no luck! 😦

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 28, 2010 at 1:10 PM

      Wee 7safa 😦 it would have been fun watching all those old forgotten faces and numbers!

      I am waiting on the new batteries to arrive ! Hopefully it would work then!

      Reply

  4. Posted by noora on June 28, 2010 at 11:40 AM

    i had one 2 😉
    when my friend had her hair cut, i just HAD to edit her picture ;p
    loved it, thnx danderma

    Reply

  5. Oh gawd, I used to play that game with a friend of mine in class… Lotta good that did me; graduated with really low GPA 😛

    Reply

  6. I had one of these! (nostalgia kicking in 🙂 )

    Even though I never actually used it as a diary, I did play games with my aunt (she’s young) via IR. good times.
    it seems i wasn’t the only one who had fun with these.

    PS: I don’t think changing the batteries will help (memory probably gets ereased without power), but it wouldn’t hurt to try anyway.

    Reply

  7. LOOL!!!
    OMG this was THE THING to have back then LOOOOL..
    memories wallah!

    Reply

  8. Posted by e7mood on June 29, 2010 at 3:44 AM

    i dooooo idoooooo remember oo chenaaa we would chat or sent files if we were yaam ba3ath !!!! first time adesh ur blog btw

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 29, 2010 at 10:50 AM

      Welcome to my blog 🙂 Insha2 Allah ma tkoon your last 😉
      Ee i think that was in the version ele 3ogob… it was so much fun o such a great technology!

      Reply

  9. I still have mine 😀

    Reply

  10. Posted by Nusy on July 2, 2010 at 4:14 PM

    OMG i still have mine too.. i have the one that came after this

    Reply

  11. Posted by Xerxes on September 20, 2010 at 7:45 PM

    Not only did I have a My Magic Diary, I had EXACTLY the same diary as the one shown here. Sure brings back a lot of memories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

