Childhood in Q8 Means: Pizza Qaysar

Etrayaqtaw?

Ma an9a7kom you continue without breakfast… unless u have something coming on the way…

Do i need to introduce the best pizza in Q8? All of us know about it.. Most of us like it… The little spicy tabasco thing with the smudge of sweet ketchup and the strings of sharp cheese over the softest dough EVER! I love it so much i think it deserves to have a post in the chapter of my childhood memories

There is something always exciting about stepping into a Qaysar branch and waiting in turn to order your pizza! The dozen used to be 1.200 KD and now it has jumped to 1.500 KD… 25% increase in price… but well… if any one deserved the price increase, it’s pizza qaysar frankly!

This plastic bag is always a source of joy for mye! When present it has the power of conjuring up the smell of pizza qaysar in my nostrils…

Ah the pizza box! Smells AMAZING! and it’s usually steaming hot! I remember when we were little kids and my mother would drive us to Qaysar… she always enforced a no food no drink in the car rule… the only exception would be when i walk with the pizza order and she would take the steaming box out of my hands… set it in her lap and open it… distributing hot hot HOT pizzas around for us to eat and actually polishing off half the box before we move again…

And when she would be driving home again… she would extend her hand to me while driving and says ‘give me one pizza’ and she would actually eat it while driving! My mother… the woman that never eats! She could resist all types of food except pizza Qaysar back then!

One memorable characteristic regarding the pizza is that they tend to stack it in the box while very hot and doughy… when you open the box you would find the pizza’s stuck together whether dough to dough or by the melting cheese… i ❤ when that happens because it means i get to have a chain of pizza’s ❤

Once as a teenager… i was a bit chubby and my mother tried to put me on a diet… my late aunt Allah yer7amha who loved pizza qaysar maybe more than anyone else in q8 had just gotten a promotion and she brought us dinner to our zwara to celebrate… i remember a particularly large box of qaysar pizza that had a lovely pizza chain of 5 pizza’s stuck together… i picked it up and grinned… she grinned back at me and my mom tried to stop me eating it… but my aunt stepped in and let me have my chain of pizza that night 😀

I am sure each and every one of us has a story to share about their pizza Qaysar memories… do comment about it please :p

and here is the melted cheese i was talking about…

Jumbled up and melted… just the way i like them ❤

Of course Qaysar is not only known for it’s awsome pizza… it sell the most amazing za3tar pizza EVER!

The only bad thing about their za3tar pizza is that it’s almost always not available. If you are willing to wait they will make it in 20 minutes… the za3tar is so tangy and they add one green olive in the middle… it is out of this world… if i want to make my baby sister happy i will bring her a box of those…

They also sell sandwiches…  my grandmother loves their chicken sandwich so much we have to get her some whenever we pass by to visit! I like their falafel ones but the bread of the sandwich is too thick for my taste.. .people don’t seem to mind though

Their mini croissants and their puff pastries filled with cheddar cheese are also favored guilty treats of mine… oooh and the round dough balls filled with Kiri cheese they sell by the dozen!!! another national favorite!

One more thing worth mentioning is… though Qaysar has expanded with branches every where and many other shops sell copycats of their pizza… … Qaysar pizza differs in taste from one branch to anther… the best pizza is to be found in Qurtoba Branch… Followed closely by the Qadsiya branch… but it’s always the Qurtoba branch for me unless i am near Qadsiya… the difference in taste is worth the effort of going to Qurtoba… trust me on this one!

So… when will you be having some Qaysar pizza :p

Happy Weekend Every One 😀

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Girl on June 17, 2010 at 10:51 AM

    oh my,,, im drueling here!! hehehe i waaaaaaaaaaaanaa grab my keys now and get me some… hell to diet for today..

    Reply

  2. Posted by Moody Panties on June 17, 2010 at 11:27 AM

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH !!!!!!! THATS JUST HEAVEN !!
    you know whats weird, i only tried it maybe a year ago !! and fell in love with it since then.

    Reply

  3. I just got back from Al 3alamiya with boxes filled with pizza and pastry goods!! Thank you very much!!! I’m trying to feed my kids so I wont eat it all alone! and I have to go out for lunch later :s

    Reply

  4. Posted by Q80BOY on June 17, 2010 at 12:38 PM

    who doesnt?

    they opened a branch in Salam .. and since then i get a weekly dosage thanks to mum 😛

    ee and u didnt mention their potato chips dont tell me youve not tried them! 😮

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 17, 2010 at 3:17 PM

      LooL i am not really a fan of potato chips at all… except the Real Mccoys malot UK that s the only brand i eat…

      3lekom bel 3afiya 😀 bs ay 9oob feta7 bel salam ?!

      Reply

      • Posted by Q80BOY on June 17, 2010 at 5:05 PM

        ulla yi3afeech 🙂 fati7 bil jam3iya il yideeda .. yam bank il 5aleej 🙂

        and trust me .. try the 8ayser chips .. i mean do they go wrong? 😛

        Reply

  5. Posted by itsallg000d on June 17, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    lool … just like Nido milk it’s generation to generation thing

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 17, 2010 at 3:18 PM

      Ok i heard that term the Nido generation ams for the first time… shel salfa?

      Bs i think the generation thing doesn’t apply… for my mom is one generation, my aunt is another… then come i and my siblings the 80’s generation… then come my little sister from the chicken nuggets generation… all of us like it :p

      Reply

  6. Dude i just had lunch and i’m drooling already have mercy on our hungry souls 😛

    Reply

  7. Posted by NBZ on June 17, 2010 at 2:40 PM

    Im Soooo Sooo glad u dedicated a post to Qaysers Pizza ..Well deserved! The best pizza!

    Reply

  8. i dont think i ever tried pizza qaysar :S !!!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 17, 2010 at 8:36 PM

      N3m? laish?! shloon y3ni you never tried it???

      U remind me of my sister who was 16 when she first tried her first cocktail juice! O she thought “OMG why didn’t i ever try this before?!!!’ I am sure u will feel the same way when you try it… it’s tastes strange at first not ur usual pizza but it is GOOOD

      Reply

  9. Posted by noora on June 18, 2010 at 1:02 AM

    ya3ni qur6uba the best! mo
    5osh 5abar its too close ;p
    yet i think they have changed the way the prepare it.
    new pizza have little amount of toppings! gabil kanat rich o they smear il ketchup 3adil le il a6raf 😦 bs now itz more doughy
    bs walla still love it 😉

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 18, 2010 at 11:41 AM

      Ee min waqe3 khebretee Qurtoba still sells the one that resembles the old one … bs sa7 kalamich awal il ketchup smeared min awalha leen akherha o il tabasco tangyyyy o by the time ur done with one all ur fingers are dirty 😦

      bs maykhalif still lovely mo :*

      Reply

  10. Ambaih chennch taklen ‘3aima!
    And don’t let me start with the perfectly sweet lovely smelled dough ;(
    want some now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

