Childhood in Q8 Means: Sunkist Juice & F6erat Jeben

Late night browsing at our old Jabriya Co-Op caused me to stumble on boxes of Sunkist Juice! Shakhbaree! I was back in the 1980’s in a whim… fighting for my breakfast in the non existant line at the school canteen… getting my self an icy cold Sunkist Orange and a Triangular Cheese Fa6eera… you were either a cheese f6era child or a za3tar fa6eera!

I would then go sit somewhere in the dusty playground with my little friends, take a bought of the delicious doughy fa6era with the tangy cheese… followed by a sip of the overly sweet Sunkist… constrasting amazingly with the saltiness of the cheese!

Now this little treat is still one of my favorites… the thing is… i can never find a good 80’s school style triangular F6erat jeben with crumbled salty white cheese inside… 😦

Do you know a place where i can buy my self one? I truly wish to relive those days!

oh and… where you ever a fan of Sunkist?

21 responses to this post.

  1. I used to LOVE sunkist! kena en7u6a bil freezer oo nakla like barid, yummyy!
    Yaditi kanat tagfil 3ana el thalaja bil shalaih, typical old kuwaiti grandmother hahaha! a7la shay ice cold sunkist while sitting 3al ba7ar when your a kid. ba3dain nakil ragi baaarid!
    oo when we were in 9th and 10th grade kanaw ebee3oon sunkist in our high school oo kanaw e7i6oonhum bil freezer 7agna sometimes.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 13, 2010 at 2:40 PM

      Ee i remember filling ice trays with vimto and putting toothpicks in 😀 but i don’t remember having frozen Sunkists!

      Ten9e7een ajarbah?

      Ya7leelha your grandma :*

      Reply

  2. I love Sunkist..unfortunately I haven’t experienced school canteen lines, neither did I try the f6ayer. My aunties used to ship for us cartons of Sunkist and KDD Chocolate Milk before we returned to back home. 🙂 Did you try al3alamiya in Sha3ab?

    Reply

  3. 🙂 same here…i miss those school days….i use to love sunkist , so much so that my dad use to bring boxes of it..coz my sister and i use to drink it all the time…its been a while i had one!! 🙂 u bring back good memories !!!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 13, 2010 at 3:22 PM

      Where on earth have you been! I thought you forgot about me or something 😦

      It is in fact very good memories 🙂 the drink isn’t the tastiest or the healthiest but i am totally in love with it 😀

      Reply

  4. Posted by noora on June 13, 2010 at 3:15 PM

    u live in jabreya dont u?
    f6ayer jebin barbar!! come on! yummy
    try f6ayer il fe7a, just as tasty

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 13, 2010 at 3:20 PM

      Ee barbar around the corner min our house… bs ana agolich their cheese fa6ayer are standard fa6ayer…. mo mithil il white cheese triangles malot gabel bel madresa 😦

      Shloon fa6ayer il fee7a?!!! Khal aroo7 ajarebhom!

      Reply

      • Posted by noora on June 13, 2010 at 3:43 PM

        f6ayer fe7a wallah b3d nice, o triangular 3ala qoltich
        its right behind il speech and deafness center

        inzen ako some kinda bakery in jam3eyat jabreya, they do f6er meshaltit i guess :p danderma ily feha jbn kraft 5ayaaaal :p

        Reply

        • Posted by danderma on June 14, 2010 at 12:15 AM

          Waaaain ay 9ooob! Wala marra sheft feteer meshaltet?! Ameer il Omara?! Et9adgeen 3ad i tried it only once before madry laish i don’t go inside at all… akhaf :p

          Reply

  5. Posted by sheikha on June 13, 2010 at 3:26 PM

    wallah I love your nostalgic posts, they conjure up so many beautiful memories. Those were the simple beautiful times, try Al-Joulan fatayer at Hawally, their Za’atar, spinach, and cheese are the best tasting ones and they best part is that they never change.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 14, 2010 at 12:13 AM

      I love the part where you count on their taste to stay the same… sadly this is not the case every where! I love al Joulan’s cheese fatayer so much… remind me of trips to the chalet with bubbling hot platters of fatayer 😀

      Reply

  6. Posted by N on June 13, 2010 at 4:30 PM

    I was a man2oushet za3tar kid (not to deny that i ate fatayer too! but at school it was za3tar)…

    as soon as I saw the sunkist pic I remembered its taste in my mouth…. I didnt realize its one of my happiest memories 🙂

    Sunkist, KDD choco milk, that icecream in a conical plastic box with a gum at the end…….. good times! 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 14, 2010 at 12:11 AM

      eee bared bu 3elch! When the color of the round gum seeps into the ice cream! We used to fight 3la il color! Sej Good times 😀

      Reply

  7. I go to jam3yatna and see sunkist there.. I sooo want to get it but I feel too ashamed buying it :p shakle next time I’m gonna get me a box 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 14, 2010 at 5:17 PM

      ee i get the same feeling… bs ana mo ashamed kither ma ana guilty inah y3ni mani yahel ashrab color o sugar drink… bs a7ebah shasawee 😦

      Reply

  8. I love the juice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

