10 Reasons Why: I hate the Salons in Q8!

1- You make an appointment, you are there on time, and no one will be ready for you, end up waiting an hour extra and ruining your carefully planned out day!

2- There is always a *witty* woman barging in trying to squeeze her self between appointments. They almost always succed and might even take yours.

3- If a dye is involved… i hate the burning sensation on your scalp and the suffocating fumes.

4- Pretentious over dressed women would sit and eye your casual jeans/sweats outfit disapprovingly. Well i am not going to get dye on my new Matthew top now am i? Shtaboon?

5- I am afraid someone will break my neck with all the excessive tugging and yanking and abuse my head gets while being *tended* to

6- I  hate the cold hard basin, the water running down my neck, my ears getting wet, and again i am afraid someone would yank my head back so hard it will break my head. Can’t i do it on my own?

7- I hate the loud music blaring from the speakers… often not to my taste at all… over and over and over…

8- I  hate that they keep the AC on it’s highest temperature… thus blowing over my wet hair and neck. The next day i must wake up with a cold!

9- I hate them trying to sell me their products… insisting over and over that that’s what i need for my hair and it will miraculously make it all better. No Thank you is never enough. I end up buying just to shut them up!

10- I do not know how should i tip them… or how much should i tip…. Do i put the tip in her pocket? If she has no pockets what do i do? If she disappears inside trying to mix something… do i wait for her to come out? What if she doesn’t like the amount?

** Update ** Forgot to add that there is not one salon in Q8 that caters to all ur needs… i have a salon for threading, another for cutting, a third for dyeing, a fourth for makeup and hairdo’s! Hmph!

37 responses to this post.

  1. I agree i agree i agree !

    I hate ildifasha !!!! Ana ta3bana 3ela sha3ri 3ashan intaw tyon barda mbarida tmch3oonliya ?!

    o i hate it when they sell their products hfff

    o akrah shay lama tkon 9a7bat ilsalon nafsiya o shayfa 7alha … laish yaya itha ur not gonna be friendly with ur customers ?!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 10, 2010 at 10:49 AM

      Ur back to blogging again?!

      Ee madry laish yenafsoon 3la khalg Allah? Etha malich kholg il customers send out invitations 3yal to your salon o fokeena!!!

      Reply

  2. I don’t tip coz she’s not doing extra! it’s her job just as any other jobs in Kuwait! Do i get tipped for doing my job?! Naaah!

    yeslam bo2ek :*

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 10, 2010 at 10:50 AM

      Sej? ana sometimes an7ash without tipping bs a7es inah they need it…

      i once gave a tip to a lady, she kissed the money o put in her pocket… as in ne3ma il 7md le Allah! 3awerat qalbi 😦

      :*

      Reply

  3. Posted by Miss Farah on June 10, 2010 at 10:54 AM

    in my 2 years of stay in Kuwait i have been to the salon here twice! and my hair was wrecked these 2 times!!! I get my hair done everytime I go to Lebanon they have the best salons there

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 10, 2010 at 12:01 PM

      Which reminds me… i never got out of a salon in Q8 fully satisfied with my hair! It’s like i am speaking an alien language or something! I wonder why!

      Reply

  4. I totally agree with you.. One time, I wanted to dye my hair.. it was very long and nice. The lady who dissapproved me dying it forced me to cut it first so she can dye it.. and at that time I only wanted to change the way I look so I agreed just to shut her up!! Not only she cut half of it off!!.. she also pulled out my hair back and forth and I could see many of my hair strands in her hair!! :O.. so now.. everytime I wanna go and have a new look I think twice.. I’m back with my natural hair color.. afraid to dye it even though I want to. 😦

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 10, 2010 at 12:02 PM

      Usually they dye the hair first then cut it to chop off the ruined ends! The concept of a makeover is foreign here… i tried almost 3/4 salons in Q8 and not once did i get a result that i am happy with 😦

      Reply

  5. I go to the same salon since I was 14 years old…they have almost everything you need to do the ppl who works there are respectable w mo garga and don’t try to sell you anything… however I also go to places which specialize in certain stuff such as nail spas or salons who have a more proffesional stylists…(aka the salons where you run into snoby bitches) 😉 What I hate the most is when the stylist shayfa 7alha 3alaich!!! My God!!! I’m paying you to do your job not to be a best friend!!! la w etha ma3jabteeha teg3ad itmachi3 ebsha3rich!!! I had to stop one of them while doing my hair and yelled at her!!!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 10, 2010 at 12:07 PM

      Ee i hate that! I used to go to a salon who has been around since forever and they cut the hair amazingly and do the highlights in a very clever way… but the hairdresser Infeesaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

      Yom im3asba ma itkalmich
      Yom itkamesh rasich o et9arekh 3leech chinich yahel
      Yom she is so sweet you feel guilty about deciding not coming again
      Yom ashkara it7esh feech in their language that you cannot understand

      Akheer hawant 3n their salon… it is bad enough that i am going to the salon to start with… i do not need a 3 hour session of mistreatment! Malah da3i!

      Reply

      • I’m going to do like my cousin did… she built a small fully equiped Salon in her house with a private enterance and what ever she needs its at her speed dial…they come to her all the way to her house without the mistreatment ;p
        Think of adding a small salon room when you build your house 🙂

        Reply

        • Posted by danderma on June 11, 2010 at 12:06 PM

          wayed 3jbtnee il idea! I will pass it on to my mother maybe she will make us a mini salon at home!!! Masha2 Allah 3leha your friend 😀

          Reply

  6. ooh thats true ! ako salonat y7i6on boxes 7g tips wayed a7san 3an ili7raj :p

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 10, 2010 at 12:04 PM

      Ee i like those salons… but lel asaf they usually have British or European hairdressers who cannot deal with my hair at all fa mako fayda 😦

      Reply

  7. Posted by Q80BOY on June 10, 2010 at 12:50 PM

    LOL!

    Thank god for being a man .. wear your shorts and t-shirt .. go to the 7ala8 .. he’ll cut my hair and gimme a quick shave and trimming for 3 KD 😉

    Reply

  8. LoooooL I don’t have much experience with them as i don’t live in Kuwait but there are things i don’t like like talking too much.. o they way they pull my hair when they dry it! I never tried dyes in Kuwait but the one i do here in swiss is natural and you don’t feel a thing.. and I hate the music o also lama some of those salon ladies sing along or dance! they look soooo weee3! lol

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 11, 2010 at 12:08 PM

      Eee 3ad etyebeen il swiss leen ele 3ndena ihnee? In ma kameshat rasich o 6angarat o galtlich sha3rich ta3baan 3shan itbee3ich all the products on the shelve ma tertaa7

      Tell me about it :`( usually they are fat o wearing tight jeans or leggings b3d! Yobooy!

      Reply

  9. Posted by noora on June 10, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    not only il bnat ily e6afron in salons.. il 3AYAYEZ!!!
    there’s a salon that i used to like, not any more, they had the sweetest and most talented hairdresser mashallah, once i was there and i had my hair already washed and waiting for my turn, when a 3ayooza walks in with her CHEES LAFAFAT.HA in her hand and she says “Rania, I want to et5alseni in 10 mins mesta3yela”, o0 6ab3an she took my turn while i sat an6erha @@ when she was done o0 I had my hair washed for the 2nd time she decided that she wanned “NIS RAF3A, MO 7ILOW CHETHY SHAKLAH!” …. la o0 lama 6anqart 3lehum she gave me a look ily itha mo 3ajbich!!! KOBOR YADITY 7a6a dobich doobi leesh ;s …
    o0 b3deen lesh tip 50% min ily u emsaweeta!! 30 kd beedha 7q esh7aqa?! min eshway enafsoon !!!

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 11, 2010 at 12:04 PM

      LooL ihee o chees il lafafaat!

      Ee aham shay inha just because she is a 3yoza 3adi tel3ab 3la keifha! Yoba min dara 3ncih!

      Mara ray7een 3ers wella cousin il me3rs tet7al6am inah fe wa7da bagat her turn because she said she is the sister of the groom … o ibser3a khalsoone…

      wella atharee il bawaga ga3da targes ib 3ers her cousin… o lahee his sister wala hom ya7zanoon!!!! bawaga and chathaba just to get done by taking someone else’s turn!!! 7arb mo salon!

      Reply

  10. i Couldnt agree more !! 😉

    Reply

  11. Posted by Dalal;* on June 10, 2010 at 5:26 PM

    LOOL My Hair Is Extremely Long And Naturally Straight * Mashallah * …. I Go There And 5 Women Come Up To Me Asking Me To Cut It Which Is Better And When I Ask For A Trim, I Get Half My Hair Chopped Off

    Reply

  12. LoL! I know what u mean, bas ashwa I found a salon that caters 2 everything 4 me, I love everyone there. The only problem is mukana shway b3eed min el jabriya. Its called Cleo bil deera wara el kaneesa. The lady that does my hair 3ajeeba wil threading is great and nails r good, and its not freezing, wil owner kilish mu enfaisa bil 3aks et’habel. I think ilsul6ana blogged about them once.

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 11, 2010 at 12:01 PM

      Masha2 Allah 😀 You achieved the impossible!!! Allah yetamem 3leech hon 3oqbalna :*

      intay yaratna bel Jabriya? Ironically, the land of salons ma feha wala salon sn3!

      Reply

  13. Ana dash 3r’6 bas iyeech el 7achy,

    I hear mom & sis complain about the same things and they go to different places depending on what they need to get done because each salon they go to has one or two staff maximum that are really skilled, and if that employee leaves to another place, they go to the new place.

    As for having all services done in one place, it’s the same with almost everything else: garages, computer shops, …etc.

    But I guess in your case (women), it’d be horrible to drive around one place to another to get various things fixed… imagine having your nails broken just after you got out of the salon & going to get your hair done x_x
    It’s like having assembled all parts of a computer then the RAM breaks while putting it in place x_x

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 11, 2010 at 12:00 PM

      Ee imagine if u have a party at night… you either take the whole day off o drive min mokan leen mokan… or you divide the things you want to do throughout the week which is ever worse in my opinion… 3eqab o 3athab! Good comparision to the Computer 😀

      Reply

  14. I so agree with number 4! Someone saw me at a salon once wearing jeans and a t-shirt and reported that to her friend who told me that she thought “i was not dressed nice” lol so sorry my ball gown was in the laundry that day 😛

    Reply

    • Posted by danderma on June 11, 2010 at 11:59 AM

      LooooooL ams a 3yoza came in, took off her 7jab, wella la boga tarchya la boga khatam mo labsetah min il tjooree… madry 3yal sheykhaloon 7g il 3azayem?

      Reply

  15. Tadreen shino y9eer feeni lama arou7 el9alon bage9 sha3rey!
    PHOBIA !
    lazem agolaha malyoun marrah don’t cut too much! madrey shino yseer feeehum they have to chop it off wela mayrta7on !
    O salfat elmalageef yeah i got used to it gemt aseer malsona o masket ana yaya gabl o t6eg ras.ha bel 6oufa ..
    A different salon for my eyebrows, another to get my nails, a different one for my hair and blah blah blah 😛

    Reply

  16. Posted by BlackTulip on June 11, 2010 at 12:10 PM

    Ohh ,, Just bring a book with you to read and see the looks you get !!! they look at me like I’m kinda freak and try to know what I’m reading !! and if the book is in English !!! even worse !!!!

    Reply

  17. Posted by S on June 11, 2010 at 5:55 PM

    When I was a teenager, they used to ask me why I was chubby, why I had pimples, and why I didn’t have a boyfriend.
    And then they would proceed by answering; “You’re so byooteepool!”
    Wala the best beauty salons are the more professional ones- like Desiree in Jabriya, or Yours in Sha3b.. or even Shadows in Jabriya! The beauticians over there are cleaner, more professional, and 7amdillah, a lot quieter.

    Reply

  18. LOOOL.. its totally the same here for the numbers 1,2, 3, 5, 6,8, 10 and the updated LOOL..

    i have 2 places or 3 depends on what i want to do loool..

    Reply

  19. you said it all…soo true!! im scared to go to a salon after my last hair cut…it was too short in front that i was the joke of the office for quite some time… i hate it when they dont listen and do wht they think is right!! arrrgh!! i rather do everything on my own 😦 so i got only one place im going to now that is crowne plaza franck provost!!

    Reply

  20. Posted by moi on June 15, 2010 at 12:15 AM

    q8 salo ns can be described in one word ( MESS) and i always hated when some of the philipino staff or indians tries to be cool and act like they are my friend from 12 yrs ago !!! plllllz leave me alone lloooooooool

    Reply

Leave a Reply

