Book Review: The Ice Cream Girls by Dorothy Koomson

Have i mentioned before that i adore Dorothy Koomson? Only once before regrettably.

I have read and loved every one of her books. I love her style of writing, i love her jumbled story telling time line. I love the slaps of reality in between the lines: this is life take it or leave it.

So when i found that there was a new book by her, published in 18 February 2010 and i didn’t still read it, i was mad with my self. For the past 36 hours all i did was read this book. got immersed in it. wanted to skip sleeping since i couldn’t tear my self away from it -couldn’t though- and cried like a little baby at some of it pages.  and wished from all my heart that i had what it takes to write a story as good as hers and have it published… to have the power to force you to re asses your life and think of the stupid mistakes you have done and if you are still using those mistakes as a hanger for every failure you may encounter in your life…

Not to mention that the title has gotten me craving ice cream so so badly!

Highly recommended. I once thought that good night beautiful was her 2nd best after my best friends girl, but i am not that sure now, i think it is a tie between The Ice Cream Girls and Goodnight Beautiful.

Here is the official book description

“At only eighteen years of age, Poppy and Serena were the only witnesses to a tragic event. Amid heated public debate and scrutiny, the two glamorous teens were dubbed ‘The Ice Cream Girls’ by the press and forced to go their separate ways and to lead very different lives. Twenty years later, Poppy is keen to set the record straight about what really happened, while married mother-of-two Serena wants no one in her present to find out about her past. But some secrets will not stay buried – and if theirs is revealed, their lives will start to unravel all over again …Gripping, thought-provoking and heart-warming, The Ice Cream Girls will make you wonder if you can ever truly know the people you love.”

and you can read the first chapter of the story here

If you have already read it, let me know. If you do read it in the future, let me know what you think 🙂

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!

7 responses to this post.

  1. WHERE DID YOU FIND IT ?
    abeeeeeeey
    agol can i borrow it “pweeez*
    *puppy eyez, pweeez *

    Reply

  2. Posted by Zaina on May 16, 2010 at 1:02 AM

    waayy ya dandermaaaaaa,,, ana I read her book “my best friend’s girl” I looooveddd it!!!! it was amazing, and this one sounds even better! oo el7eeen allah e3afee my kindle, i can order it right now min amazon 😀
    Thank u!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shoosh on May 16, 2010 at 10:14 AM

    I read The Chocolate Run, written by her as well….very nice story and very latheeth
    I like her writings

    Reply

  4. Posted by sacha72 on May 16, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    Hi! Thank for writing about this author & her new book. I am an avid reader & after reading what you wrote I researched the author & bought all her books; some from Amazon for my kindle & the other unavailable ones on Kindle to be airmailed to me!
    I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time & I love what you write! Every Wednesday I await the Dathra Yawmeyat & I love your style in writing although sometimes the Kuwaiti dialectic is a bit hard to understand (I appreciate the Kuwaiti word definitions at the end)! Keep on the good work & I would definitely purchase any book you publish! 🙂

    Reply

  5. i never even heard of the author…
    but its definitly going in my to buy list

    Reply

  6. I love readingm i thin im gonna buy one of her books and see what i’ll find through the pages 🙂

    Reply

  7. […] I have reviewed two of her books before on my blog “Good Night Beautiful” and “The Ice Cream Girls” … my favorite book however is the the first one i ever read for her “My Best […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

