Childhood in Q8 Means: Pizza El-3alamiya

As i escaped from my dentist last week, i felt so down i wanted something to pick me up. Wandering in Salmiya, i suddenly remembered a dusty childhood memory with a lingering flavor, took a wrong turn, and finally i was there for my nostalgic meal!

The place above is called 3marat il Khalid… if you were born before 1990, chances are you have attended a party where the baked goods have been brought from the most famous bakery back in the day: 3alamiya bakery!

As i walk towards the 3alamiya bakery, i am hit with a wave of memories that almost left me in tears… i cannot recount how many times i have walked these steps with my mom and aunts, how happy i was when i heading towards the bakery… Instead of Kaizen there used to be an amazing toy store where we would always beg mom to stop at before the bakery… i remember buying my Bionic Six action figures from that store because it was the only one in Q8 that sold them…

As i open the door… the old familiar powdery floury sweet smell of the 3alamiya bakery hits my nostrils… i close my eyes for one second, waiting for the sound of the bell that used to tinkle whenever the door was opened, and it didn’t come. I open my eyes and there it is… the Alaska Fridge still in the corner, so is the big cake fridges that used to hold the goodies…

I place my order for one dozen pizza, and the seller won’t leave me in peace! He runs after me as i look at each window, grabbing a cake, or a biscuit, or a fateera and offering it to me to eat! I remembered the days when it was a self service place, mom would pick up a box, a pair of plastic tong, and deal with a herd of kids yapping behind here like little ducks wanting this and that!

I wait for the guy to disappear for a moment and then i snap pictures of the cakes… they didn’t change much, sadly my fav. cake which was a peach tart with one half of a peach on top decorated with a chocolate star is not there any more 😦

Finally my order comes… the smell is AMAZING… so i drive home in a haste to dig in… the box is hot and i can feel the pizza bubbling inside ❤

I take a look at it before i bite, feeling my self a kid at a birthday party like before

And i take one heartful bite… the flood of memories is back… there is something about this pizza that is just… good… the combination of chopped canned mushrooms, sharp cheddar like cheese, sweet tomatoes, doughy base, and the salty black olive bathed in melted cheese… it is just so very very good and nostalgic ❤

It is 90% similar to what it used to be before the invasion. The bakery was burned down or wrecked by the Iraqi Invasion of Kuwait in 1990. They didn’t open for a long time after the liberation, maybe until 1994 or 1995! By the time they did, time has gone by, the bakery was not the same and the only familiar thing was the pizza…

They do home delivery by the way, Call 25656539 if you want to remember the old days… i so would order some for lunch but i am off solid food for a while 😦

Like what’s above? Join My Facebook Fans Page and Recieve the Latest Updates in One Swift Instant!

9 responses to this post.

  1. u know tqreeebn the same pizza bel ‘6b6 3ndna fel b7rain ( pizza 6areq )
    o its pizza el6ufoola too 😛
    kaano ebe3onah fe mdrestna..

    i still scrave it sometimes.. yummy..

    Reply

  2. Posted by Zahed on March 29, 2010 at 11:04 AM

    ohh my god is that place still open!! they had amazing donuts

    Reply

  3. ooh man!! i didnt know its till there … now im craving it…. i love their stuff…i remember dad brining assorted boxes at home and my sister and i use to pounce at it like mad hats and race for the last pizza ..hehe…i’ll suprise my sister soon..the look on her face would be just too good..btw nice post ..ur awesome 🙂

    Reply

  4. children of early 80s rock!
    i love how u remember the old places.. remember the old video store that was there as well?
    3almeya pizza = YUM

    Reply

  5. Posted by Hanadi on March 29, 2010 at 10:04 PM

    Oh my God..you toke me back to those lovely days:)) the best bakery at that time…do you remember their sable biscuits the ones with the whole in the middle they were to die for…yum and ofcourse the black foreat and alaska

    Reply

  6. 🙂

    مافي اجمل من ذكريات الطفولة

    مرة كنت معزومة على عيد ميلاد وكنت حاطتلي بيتزا العالمية بصحني, وكنت متسبهة بالرقص وناسية الصحن اللي باييدي

    يوم خلصت الرقصة وتفرغت عالصحن, ما اشوف غير زيتون بصحني

    قريبتي اللي كانت يمي شطبت عالبيتزا والظاهر انها مو على ولام مع الزيتون!
    .
    .
    .

    شكرا على مشاركتنا ذكرياتك وتسلمين على السرد الجميل
    🙂

    Reply

  7. lol @ nosa,, i was just craving it after reading this post and planning on ordering it tomorrow! ;p

    Reply

  8. shakhbary

    Reply

  9. Posted by aws on March 31, 2010 at 11:55 PM

    wallah i started having tears in my eyes !
    mashallah i totally forgot about the bell… and i heard its sound as soon as u mentioned it ..
    the smell that “hit you”…

    their spinach was oh so yummy…

    donut and alaska…

    what wasn’t good !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

